I was born on March 23, 1959 in Yellowknife, NWT, Canada, eh? Yep, my birth certificate is in two official languages: English and Innu! Like most good atheists, I was baptized in a Catholic church and went to catholic school. I even have the scars to prove it. Fortunately, none of that took :-)
The son of a second generation Canadian of Ukrainian decent and an immigrant Italian, I was fed well at an early age. Pasta mostly. Still have pasta every Friday in my house.
Here I am, at the age of 4 years, sitting in the dirt taking something apart. Some things never change.
Age 5 with my dogs, Blackie and Sargent. Either one of them could have torn me apart if they had wanted, but I guess I never gave them reason to do so! Do you like that dorky tie?
OK let's fast forward though the teen years, which weren't all that interesting anyway, to sometime after they invented colour film. I graduated from University in 1982 with a BSc in Civil Engineering with specialization in geotechnical engineering. After that I worked at the University on academic staff doing research on oilsands tailings. When the research money dried up I went on to work as a conslutant in the geotech field. That sucked.

In 1985 my longtime friend, Jane Starr, and I married. A very happy day.

In 1989 I became a snivil servant when I joined the Provincial Government in their Transportation Department. Starting out in R&D then moving on to Bridge Branch I finally found my area of interest: bridge hydrotechnical engineering. It's fascinating stuff and I'll talk your ear off given half a chance.

In 2007 I left the government (death by 1000 cuts as it were) and went back to the consulting industry. It was a very good move.


We now have 2 boys, Thomas born in June of '89 and William, born in March of '92. We live in a 50 year old 2-story house, just across the river from downtown Edmonton. The house is paid for, the cars are paid for, the kids are healthy and happy.... life is good.


Everybody wants to know what our house looks like. It's a typical house for this area in Canada. Here we are Building a new garage addition in the back yard. The one in the background houses the workshop where I do most of my work. We bury the cars under the snow and wait for them to thaw out again in the spring.*
*Our friends south of the border that do not see the humour in this should check below the computer desk to ensure no one is pulling their leg.
Last updated: 11/16/2007 .